Tags

, , , , ,

When I was young, Nanna, Amber and myself would go on vacation every summer with our cousins John and Susie. Since my birthday is in the summertime, July 31, I usually got to pick where we went to. I almost always chose amusement parks even though I was too small to ride the fun rides. One year, I wanted to go to the beach. So we planned our first trip to Dayton Beach, Florida. I was probably about 5 years old at the time.

I was so excited about going to the ocean. I have always loved to be in the water. I would go swimming everyday now if I had a pool! On the car ride to Florida, John stated telling me how there are sharks in the ocean and how they will come to shore and bite little girls. I was terrified then! I made up my mind that I was not going to go near the water if I was going to be bitten by a shark. Nanna tried to tell me that he was only playing but I was scared now.

When we arrived, I would only get in the swimming pool at the hotel and refused to go to the beach. Finally, Nanna convinced me that it was ok because Amber got into the water and she didn’t get bit. That made me feel a little better about it. I got in the ocean, but not far in. I still wasn’t too sure I wouldn’t get bit by a shark! After a little while of playing, the problem now was getting me Out of the ocean! I loved it and I still do.

I am so excited for our move to California since the beach will be right there for me anytime I want it 🙂

