Tags

, ,

I would have to say, and I think many people would agree with me, that my Nanna is hands down the greatest woman to ever walk this earth!

Mary Reba Taylor Cundiff was born on March 5, 1922 in Johnson City, Tennessee. She was the middle child, with an older sister, Hazel, and a younger brother, Lyle. She met and married Wayne Delbert Cundiff when she was in her 20’s. They lived in Johnson City their whole marriage except for a few years they moved to Denver, Colorado while he was a bomber pilot in the war. Afterwards, they moved back to JC to start their family. Nanna said she had always wanted just 1 child, so that is all she had. She gave birth to my daddy, Michael Wayne not long after moving back home.

By the time my daddy was about 16, everyone in her family; her mother, father, sister, brother and husband had all passed away. She was left to finish raising my daddy on her own. When my father was grown and married, he had moved out and Nanna lived alone for several years. When my sister turned 3, my dad and mother moved back in with Nanna to live. I was born 2 years later so I was with her my entire life. Nanna’s life got a little rough then. When I was 18 months old, my father was killed and my mother left my sister and I to live with Nanna while she moved in with a boyfriend. So here was a 63 year old woman who was now having to raise a 5 year old and a 1 year old by herself. I must say, she did a FANTASTIC job at it!!!!! Nobody could have ever done better than she did. I would not change anything that happened because I know I was meant to be raised by her and only her. She made me the woman I am today.

I lost this perfect lady in September 2009. I still think of her every single day and I know that she is still with me always. I love you, Nanna!!!!!!!!!!!

